Backstreet’s Back, Alright!

Just kidding. The Backstreet Boys are in fact not back, but I am!

IMAG0178_1

I am back in Bergen, and this time it is indefinitely. I received the offer for that “big-girl-job,” took it, and moved myself back to Norway. I have to say I still quite don’t know how I feel about it. Some days I think heck yeah! I live in Europe, this is awesome! Other times, pictures of the Chicago skyline fill me with homesickness. But I think that’s just how it goes.

When I was leaving for Bergen, nearly two months ago, I had just graduated from college, where I got all that knowledge. In the US, this is a huge celebration filled with ceremonies and receptions, speakers and formalities, caps and gowns. Family flies in and friends gather to remember the good ol’ times of the early college years. I was feeling all the warm fuzzies for my university, my friends, my family and my city. A week later I had to get on a plane and I was so not ready. Why leave all that comfort? Well, the ticket was bought, the bags were packed and I was on my way.

2014-06-21 10.31.27

It has been a bit of a whirlwind since I got here. When I arrived at my final destination, my bags had not….they needed more time in Iceland apparently. Rarely do things get completely lost, but when nearly all of your belongings are in two suitcases in airport limbo, it’s a bit unsettling. But alas, they arrived and I got all my bureaucratic things sorted out. Now all that’s left is to learn the language. Jeg lærer norsk!

I moved into a house with 8 other Norwegians and 1 from Sweden, so the incentive to learn the language is definitely there. For those of you who know me at ALL are probably thinking to yourselves….Meredith chose to live with 9 other people?! I know, I’m as shocked as all of you, but it’s a really nice place and it’s a great way to work on my Norwegian and make friends! They’re all students, so they’re keeping me young.

In the meantime, I’ve just been catching up with friends I made last year and going outside, getting to know my neighborhood.

IMAG0071

I’m excited to see what my new life here has in store.

5 thoughts on “Backstreet’s Back, Alright!

  1. That’s awesome! Sorry about your suitcases…I feel like that’s a right of passage for life or something. Excited to keep up with your blog and hear about your adventures. =)

  2. Hi Meredith,

    This is Mike..the guy you met in the Iceland airport. I did a quick search on Meredith Bergen Norway and low and behold I found you!. I hope this isn’t too weird. I really enjoyed talking with you so I thought I would say hi.

    If you would like to keep in touch..I don’t know pen pals or something then please email me back.

    Take Care,
    Mike

    • Hi Mike,

      I am so sorry, I just saw this as I have not blogged in a very long time. I hope your spring is going nicely, I heard it was getting a bit cold again in CO. Thanks for the comment and sorry this took so long to respond.

      Best regards,
      Meredith

Leave a Reply

